LibGuides: Malchionno Art : Home

`Website Sources`

These are some of the best websites to use for your art projects. No searching or checking a source for accuracy and trustworthiness needed!

Websites

Smithsonian American Art Museum
Use the Smithsonian search portal to find any artist you want to research!
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Search the entire collection of the Met Museum in NY to learn more about an artist or a specific technique.

`Book Sources`

Search the school library catalog for books using the widget below OR come by the library to check out one of the pictured books. They are reserved for you at the librarian desk in the library classroom.

Books

The Metropolitan Museum of Art Guide by Philippe De Montebello (Editor); Curatorial Staff (Editor)
Call Number: 708.1 HOW
ISBN: 0870997106
Publication Date: 1994-05-01
The National Gallery of Art, Washington by World of Art Staff; Roald Nasgaard
Call Number: 708.153 NAT
ISBN: 0500202516
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Art by Paul Johnson
Call Number: 709 JOH
ISBN: 0060530758
Publication Date: 2003-09-30
America's Art, Smithsonian American Art Museum by Theresa J. Slowik; Eleanor Harvey (Foreword by); Elizabeth Broun (Introduction by)
Call Number: 709.73 SMI
ISBN: 9780810955325
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
The Harmon and Harriet Kelley Collection of African American Art by Gylbert Coker (Other Primary Creator); Corrine Jennings (Other Primary Creator); Harriet O'Banion Kelley (Preface by); San Antonio Museum of Art Staff; Douglas K. S. Hyland (Other Primary Creator)
Call Number: 760 KEL
ISBN: 1883502012
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
The Usborne Introduction to Modern Art by Rosie Dickins; Tim Marlow; Jane Chisholm; Carrie Armstrong; Vici Leyhane; Catherine-Anne MacKinnon
Call Number: 709.04 DIC
ISBN: 0439895324
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Art Treasury by Rosie Dickins; Nicola Butler (Illustrator)
Call Number: 709 DIC
ISBN: 9780794514525
Publication Date: 2007-01-01

Database Sources

The links below look like websites, but they are better! These are library databases, so they have information that is better quality than many websites and they have tools for researchers. At these sites, you can find journal articles, encyclopedia articles, reviews, pictures to study and more!

Even better, they give you MLA citations to copy and paste into your project!

Image Databases

Britannica Image Quest via DCPL
If you are researching an artist or concept and you need inspiration images, this database is perfect. All the images you need, with the permission to use them granted and citations provided. You will need a DC One Card or Library Card number to access this database (click "more" below for an example library card and pin).
more...less...
library card: 21172018698292
PIN: 8292

Reference Databases

High School In-Context
This database is a great alternative to Wikipedia. It provides encyclopedia articles, magazine articles, and more, but it is guaranteed to be written, edited and fact-checked by professionals and subject experts.
Middle School In-Context
Providing content written specifically for middle school students, this database is a great alternative to Wikipedia. It provides encyclopedia articles, magazine articles, and more, but it is guaranteed to be written, edited and fact-checked by professionals and subject experts.

Academic Databases

High School OneFile
This database provides journal articles and critical reviews. If your teacher mentions using JSTOR, this database can be a great alternative.

Malchionno Art : Home

Project Documents

Website Sources